Big Milestones

Man oh man… times, they are a-changing here at the Shingletons. It seems like within a matter of two or three weeks, Jude has made some major milestones. As of tonight, we now have a crawler on our hands. He’s been up on all fours for over a week, but tonight, he really got moving. I nearly cried, I just can’t believe it. He just seems so… big.
Plus, he’s sitting up so well these days. Granted, he can’t quite pull himself all the way up, but if I sit him up, he’ll stay that way for awhile. He likes to lay on his side, so George Hamilton chic, as if he were lounging on a bearskin rug and he needs me to bring him a refreshing beverage. He waves his hand around like, “Yes, my minions….”

Today, he distinctly said, “Mama.” I don’t think he had the slightest clue what he was saying or what it meant, but he said it!
And, as evidenced by my earlier post today about the high chair, he’s doing so well with eating. I started giving him Puffs, these little dissolvable cracker things (that are actually pretty yum), and he has now figured out how to carefully pick them up one by one and place them in his mouth. Now if we could only get the sippy cup thing down, we’d be good to go!
So now we have entered an all new era of mobility. I have a feeling the crib mattress will need to be lowered very, very soon. And I’m also going to be in the market for childproofing items and baby gates for the stairs (!!!!). A whole bunch of new things for Momma to worry about!
Every day is a new day, with new things to see and learn. Tipping over his toy bucket today was a source of great glee, as he just laughed and laughed, like it was just the funniest thing ever to dump out all your toys. But it was more a laugh like, Wow, look what I did! 
What a joy and a privilege to be with him every day. I couldn’t be more thankful that I get to stay home with him and see every exciting little thing.
Leave a Reply

