Getting Away: Dallas Weekend

Sometimes you’ve just got to get out of town. And for us Oklahomans, there’s not much that’s easier than hopping in the car and driving south to Dallas. For as long as I can remember, we’ve taken occasional weekend jaunts to the Big D. I have early memories of staying at the Marriott Quorum, and wandering through the Galleria where I would beg my parents to let me go ice skating on their beautiful rink. I had great designs on being a figure skater back then. 🙂

Anyway, we love to make the 3 hour drive, and enjoy all the great restaurants and shopping. It’s an easy way to come back refreshed and ready for the week ahead. On Friday evening after work, we loaded up the car with all our goods (so much more stuff than we used to travel with – thank you, Jude) as well as my parents and all of their stuff, and we headed on down I-35. We seem to have settled into a fairly predictable pattern: we drive down after work, and upon arrival into D, head straight to the Grand Lux Cafe and have a sizeable dinner, and then go straight to the hotel and hop into bed. And this trip was no exception. Except now we have to wait to get a crib sent up to our room before we hop into bed, and this makes for a fussy and tired enfant.
Really, for us, it’s all about the food and the shopping. I don’t know what else to do there but that. That’s sad to say, I guess. I have no doubt there are a myriad of other fabulous cultural activities we could be participating in. But some people go to places just to golf, you know? So I guess going somewhere just to shop or eat can’t be all bad.
Every Saturday morning, we get up and go to Chick-Fil-A for a chicken biscuit. Ok, I know we have these at home, but it just feels like such a treat. I mean, what is better than a delicious buttery biscuit with delicious Chick-Fil-A chicken on it, and a large unsweet iced tea with lemon? I don’t know!
Here’s Jude at Chick-Fil-A, enjoying some Cheerios furnished by the establishment.  How thoughtful!
Saturday afternoon was spent exploring the delightful Northpark Mall. When it’s 100 degrees outside, it is entirely necessary to be indoors. We enjoyed checking out the different stores, and seeing new things. However. It is with great sadness that I announce that Jude’s beloved Sophie the Giraffe is now living at Northpark. Somewhere in between J.Crew and Neiman Marcus, Sophie was lost to us. I hope she has found a happy new home. 

Here’s Sophie with Jude, in happier times. 😦  Jude hopes she’s ok.
If you’re ever in Dallas, you must eat at the Taco Diner. A fun modern interior with a great, light Mexican menu –  you just can’t go wrong. Also try Mi Cocina, a part of the same restaurant group. It has a slightly more complex menu, but it is so good.
Last year at this time (actually, right at our anniversary), we enjoyed a weekend in Dallas, and celebrated our 2nd anni with a Sprinkles cupcake. And, come to think of it, we enjoyed a Sprinkles cupcake in Beverly Hills on our 1st anni in 2006. So we had to complete the tradition by having another Sprinkles so close to our 3rd. Plus, it’s right across the way from the Taco Diner, so of course we had to go. Mom and Dad tried coconut and dark chocolate, and Simon and I split a red velvet and a dark chocolate marshmallow. Mom is vouching for the coconut being the best. I think I’m voting for red velvet. It’s that darn cream cheese frosting, I tell you!
We also made a trip to the Williams-Sonoma Home. If you ever should get a chance to visit one, do take the opportunity. It’s just a great visual experience. They have some really luxurious fabrics, and if you can hit a good sale, all the better. Their linens, in particular, go on excellent sales.
It was so gracious of Mom and Dad to offer to keep Jude on Saturday evening so Simon and I could have a night out. Jude had a little crib in our room that rolled on wheels, so we put him in it and rolled him down the hallway next door to their room along with some of his things. He looked like he was on a magic carpet or something. He thought it was just the funniest thing ever. He looked pretty cute, too!

Here’s Simon rolling him away. Here I go!

Simon and I had THE best dinner in a long time at Taverna Pizzeria & Risotteria. Really, anything dubbed a risotteria has to be fantastic. Close to the Knox-Henderson neighborhood, we had tried to eat there last year for our anniversary, but we couldn’t ever get a parking space (a good sign, I guess, of a good restaurant?). This year, we were lucky and so we figured that we might as well hang around and wait for a table since we scored a parking space. And what else did we have to do? Besides, every plate that passed by us looked incredible, not to mention smelled amazing. It was entirely worth the wait. We started with parmesan-dusted shrimp on polenta, with a fresh caprese salad including yellow cherry tomatoes (i’m sure there’s a technical term for that, foodies). Simon had the mahi with whipped white polenta and asparagus; I enjoyed the pesto risotto with fried zucchini strips and scampi. To. die. for. Everything on the menu was well-priced as well as diverse. I would love to go back and try a myriad of items. It seemed everyone ordered the chef’s special flatbread.
When we got back, it was late, but we heard Jude in my parents’ room, so we rescued them. It was around 11 o’clock, and Jude had just woken up. Unfortunately, he didn’t go back to sleep until 1am! It was a really late night, but we slept in to make up for it. Breakfast was at La Madeleine at the Galleria. We enjoyed wandering around, checking out all the shops. Mom and Dad just spoil Jude (and us!) rotten: Jude got some fantastic new clothes as well as some cute blankets. We are so thankful for all they do for us; they really keep us outfitted cute.

Can I just say that the sales were rocking this weekend? Ugh, it may be a recession, but that means that all the stuff is going on mad sales! We all scored big time in the shopping department. I came away with an obscenely-discounted Diane von Furstenberg. I’ll have to take a picture of it to post, because it is just too cute. 
It was such a great weekend. We always have such fun with my parents. They have a fun sense of humor, and we always enjoy swapping funny stories with them. Jude was an excellent little traveler and even though we lost Sophie (tear!), he was a good little trooper.
1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Kathleen said,

    I spent the weekend in Dallas too for a friend’s birthday! We ate at Benihana – I’ve never experienced Hibashi!

    We stayed at the Magnolia which was really nice and we got a super deal on it through Expedia.

    Saturday was all about IKEA – also a first for me!

    I’m sure I’ll blog all about it as soon as I’m able to gather photos.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

