Zoo Day

Today I took Jude to the Oklahoma City Zoo. On Wednesdays in August, they offer original admissions pricing (75 cents!) as well as discounted pricing for concessions. I hadn’t been to the zoo in years, and it was fun to rediscover a place of good memories for me as a child. This plaque (above) was hidden in the bushes by the pachyderm house; apparently the OKC Zoo was the first and oldest zoo in the southwestern US.
Within the past 15 years or so, the Zoo has really been upgraded with the addition of the Cat Forest and the Great EscApe. I had not yet seen the newly-added Oklahoma Trail, which is a very long and winding exhibit that features the different indigenous animals of Oklahoma. It’s extremely well-done. I particularly enjoyed the “Creatures of the Night” exhibit inside the red barn. There were all kinds of bats and owls and things. So neat!


Here’s one of the beautiful Asian-inspired displays of the Cat Forest. (above) Jude was really excited about seeing the new Snow Leopard cubs (below).

I thought that the swan paddleboats were so beautiful! There are even a couple of black swan paddleboats. If it had only been a wee bit cooler, I think it would’ve been fun. Oh well, the little man sacked out and probably wouldn’t have been that into it anyway. Another time!

Peacocks run wild throughout the zoo.

The Mold-A-Ramas are one of my favorite things in the OKC Zoo. This one is near the Aquaticus exhibit. For $2, you put your  money in and watch it mold your own individual plastic statuette. It’s neat — the hot plastic runs through the little tubes, and then it drops down into the holding bin where it cools off. I have a giraffe and a lion from a past trip; they’re now in Jude’s room. They’re just so vintage and fun. I’m glad that the Zoo has kept these around. In a way, it’s kind of sad to see some of the neat old things from my childhood are gone, like the lion-with-open-jaws water fountains. As a matter of fact, one of my parents’ neighbors has one of them (presumably rescued from the zoo?) in their backyard!
Finally, Jude and I finished out the day by having lunch w/ my mom at Chick-Fil-A (below) and shopping at Target, where I scored this amazing mirror (above).

Leave a Reply

