Animal House

You may remember this framed alphabet card that I have hanging in the powder bath. I bought the set of cards from Michael’s — it’s a Martha Stewart design, and for $9.99, I think it was a pretty good deal. I’ve also framed the letter “U” and have it on the mantel in the family room. It’s got a lovely little illustration of a sea urchin. Remind me to photograph it sometime ….

Anyway, I’ve had the rest of the alphabet sitting in a pile in my very unorganized office, and I finally got around to doing something with them this weekend. I hung almost all of the rest of them in the bonus room in a little nook where Jude can see them as he hops in his Jumperoo. ย Every day, I take him over into the corner and we look at the different animals. I love the expressions on their faces. The cow is particularly demure.
I had to quickly clean up/clean out Jude’s playroom today as the drywall guy was coming to patch up a few places that have unfortunately cracked. I threw all the stuffed animals into the crib and promptly forgot about them until naptime. All but two or three of these animals were mine from childhood. I still love them, especially the giraffe. Anyway, I put Jude in the crib with all the animals and he thought it was just the funniest thing ever. I let him play for awhile before removing all the animals. But he was happy this time to go down for a nap! ๐Ÿ™‚
4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Shannon said,

    I have the same MS alphabet animal letters – how did you hang them?! I want to put them up in our playroom but can’t decide on the best way to do it. I was trying to avoid putting a hole in the cards. Thanks!

  2. 2

    RachelShingleton said,

    Shannon – I put them up with stainless steel tacks, but without making a hole in the paper. My trick from presentation day in art school is to basically wedge the item between two tacks (one at the top, one at the bottom, both centered), where it’s like the paper is slid into a kind of groove in between. Does that make sense? Actually, with these, I only used one tack per card; I just got it tight enough into the wall that it won’t fall out. This is also a good trick if you have kids — if they rip it off the wall, it won’t leave a torn hole in the card.

  3. 3

    Shannon said,

    I have an 18 mo old – thanks for the pointers. Love your blog…I recently found it. Can you come decorate my house?! ๐Ÿ˜‰ You have an amazing eye.

    p.s. I am green with envy at your DVF dress – it’s on my list of must buys…some day!

    Take Care and thanks for inspiring me!

  4. 4

    RachelShingleton said,

    Thanks so much for your sweet comments! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I’d love to come decorate your house! Haha…

    Thanks — I am loving my DVF. I was feeling like a frumpy momma, and it really perked me up.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

