A Design Christmas

Are you looking for some fun Christmas gifts? Something design-related perhaps? I’ve tried to pull together a list of some fun things that I’ve seen around.

You’ve probably seen this one floating around the internet for quite awhile as it has gained quite the buzz, but the Domino Book of Decorating is one highly-anticipated tome. While I have not personally had the opportunity to flip through it, everything I read about it is more than glowing. A must-have, in my opinion, for your design library.

Speaking of design libraries . . . While sitting in the waiting room at the surgery center, waiting for my mom to recover, I was reminded of how much I love love love both House Beautiful & Cottage Living (now defunct, may it rest in peace. I am SO sad about this) magazines. Magazines are such a great and easy gift. Not only are they the gift that keep on giving (a year’s worth of gifts!), but they’re also easy to come by and inexpensive. In addition to these, I would also like a subscription to Martha Stewart Living too.

Oh wow. Look at this – a Yves St-Laurent Couture coloring book! For the budding fashion illustrator in your life. Or maybe just the child-at-heart who still loves to color.

I don’t know that I’ve ever gotten so excited about a doormat before, but this one is about the cutest one I’ve ever seen. It may be the Francophile in me, but I just adore this one. There’s also some fun manhole-cover-shaped ones too.

Jewelry is always a winner. I saw these over on Etsy and fell in love. Yanis07 has a ton of gorgeous, reasonably-priced jewelry.

Speaking of cute baubles, Dogeared Jewelry has been one of my favorite lines for several years. They have such a diverse selection of cute necklaces, earrings, and bracelets. This World Is Your Oyster necklace just sent me oohing and aahing. It’s a beautiful mix of mother-of-pearl and sweet little charms, but still chic enough to wear every day.

Maybe, like me, you’ve got some cute kidlets to buy for this holiday season. Here’s a roundup of some of my favorite kid gifts, too.

All moms know that you can never have too many sheets for the crib (same goes for the our bed, too!). These cute organic stripe sheets from Giggle are my new faves. They come in blue, orange, and pink, and they are just too fun.

Giggle also has these fabric-covered animal frames. The giraffe was my favorite of the three they offer. If you are a little more DIY-minded, there’s another fun set of 3 that you can pick up in the craft section at Wal-Mart by Martha Stewart. It comes with a whale, an owl, and an elephant.

Dwell just came out with these fun Activity Kits in their signature kid prints (which I don’t find too kiddie at all). It has room for paper, pens, crayons (I think it even comes with a few Crayolas for good measure).

I’ve talked before about how much I looooove Haba, the German kids’ company that designs some amazing stuff, but this Marrakech tent just takes the cake. What little girl wouldn’t feel like the ultimate princess in this thing? Check it out at Moolka, along with the other great Haba products. Shhh, don’t tell Jude, but he’s getting some Haba wooden blocks for Christmas!

For the newest little member of the family, I am loving the line of SkipHop toys at BabiesRUs/ToysRus. This activity mat is so well-designed and looks like a lot of fun.

I can’t believe Thanksgiving will be here a week from today! That means we’ve all got to get crackin’ on our holiday shopping! 

Leave a Reply

