My Very First Giveaway!

Ok, in honor of my 28th birthday, I am having my very own first giveaway here at Pencil Shavings. After all, it’s better to give than receive, non?  

I ordered this gorgeous print of romantic Venice from Etsy seller Scarlet Beautiful (above) and I was pleasantly surprised when she sent not only the one print, but an additional one as well! What luck! Quelle chance!

So. Here’s what I’m going to do. Just leave a comment on this post, telling me your favorite birthday memory or favorite birthday present. I’ll close the comments on Wednesday at noon central time and then randomly draw a winner. And then I will ship the winner this gorgeous glossy photo of Venice. Please note, this is just for the photo – no frame is included. 

Good luck to all!  🙂

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Stephanie said,

    Sweet, I’m so excited!

    My favorite birthday memory (well it’s not a memory because I do not remember my first year of life) is when my mom tried not 1, not 2, but 3 times to bake my first birthday cake (strawberry), each attempt more unsuccessful than the last! I love her, and only a mom would spend all day in the kitchen to bake a cake for their baby! Ha ha! Due to this story my future kids will be fed a beautifully made cake baked by someone other than myself! Whoo hoo!

    Happy pre-birthday btw!

  2. 2

    Katie Sutton said,

    I’ve been blessed with a lot of good birthdays, but I think my best was my 23rd. It was the day before our wedding and was the perfect day. We had the best time decorating the reception site and of course I was pampered with a mani & pedicure. I was doubly spoiled since I had the roles of bride and birthday girl.

    In a close second was last year, which was the day I had my mom take me to the hospital because I thought my water broke with Zora. Come to find out it was a false alarm but we had a Jimmy’s Egg breakfast and spent the day shopping. I’m convinced that my mom’s marathon shopping is the reason I went into labor the next day and had a beautiful baby girl five days early.

  3. 3

    SuBoo said,

    My favourite birthday memory (and probably one of the earliest!) was the great fun I had on my 5th birthday party. Mum and Dad were great at throwing us kiddies a celebration and I remember being surrounded by friends and loving my birthday cake!

    Happy 28th! 🙂

  4. 4

    Sharon Fairclough said,

    My best birthday memory was when friend from college drove up to visit me on my birthday. Well it was very special because my birthday is Dec 26 yes the day after Christmas and I was so bummed because everyone was still caught up in the Christmas celebration it was very nice surprise. it was my 25th birthday. Thanks for the giveaway

    sharr1226 at yahoo dot com

  5. 5

    SANDY said,

    my first child was born a few days before one of my birthdays and that really was the best gift I ever got- it put life into a real perspective from there and I realized what was important in life

  6. 6

    Kathleen said,

    My best birthday memory is from last night. Jeremy hosted a 1920s murder mystery part for me at our house and it was hilarious and perfect.

  7. 7

    Kristin said,

    My favorite birthday memory was from college, believe it or not. My parents came to visit to simply take me out to dinner. Even as a young adult forging independence, I valued their time and undivided attention then. I received a Sony Discman that year, but I even recall thinking how I cherished my time with them even more.

  8. 8

    Anna said,

    For my seventh birthday I got to invite eight friends to Putter’s Paradise to go mini-golfing. This in itself was amazing, since my birthday parties in the past had been at the lake where we lived. After a rousing game of golf and standard cake and ice cream came the best part of any kid’s birthday – presents! Ryan McClanahan gave me a Tinkerbell makeup set. I was in HEAVEN! I got to go somewhere for my party and I got makeup! Wow!

    Oh to be seven again…

    Happy Birthday! I hope you get the grown up equivalent of Tinkerbell makeup!

  9. 9

    susan said,

    My favorite birthday memory was when my family had a mini reunion for my birthday it was priceless to have so many of my loved ones there.

  10. 10

    Lisa said,

    My birthday memory is the day I turned lucky #13. I was so sick I spent the entire day throwing up. Both of my parents stayed home with me and my Dad bought me a coffee mug that said, “Life’s a (fill in the blank) & then you die.” I find it very funny now. Still have the mug and use it whenever I’m sick. Just not at my job as I teach kindergarten.

    Love the blog, I read it regularly.

  11. 11

    Heather S said,

    My favorite birthday memory is when my Mom made me these “dirt cups” instead of a cake for me – which included crushed oreos cookies + gummy worms!

  12. 12

    Kira said,

    Hmmm, this is a hard one! I think my best birthday memories were the costume parties that I had growing up. Having a late October birthday, my parents always used the opportunity to gather as many kids as possible and host a pinata hitting, apple dunking, bean bag tossing, musical chair, etc. Halloween party. It was always an absolute blast, and another excuse to wear my costume! My friends still talk about my childhood birthday parties, even now!

    That gives me an idea…why don’t I have a birthday party like that now?!

    Thanks for the giveaway! Choose me…free shipping! HA!

  13. 13

    kim v said,

    My favorite birthday memories are when I was a child and my mother always baked me a birthday pie (not cake) for my b-day.
    Happy Birthday!
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    Kimspam66(at)yahoo(dot)com

  14. 14

    MMW said,

    My favorite birthday memory is going to Reno for my 21st birthday! I was so excited and it was so much fun to gamble legally!!

  15. 15

    Leslie S. said,

    My favorite bithday was in 1990(my 12th).I had a Jordan Knight cake,got the whole set(street clothes) of new kids on the block dolls,and the new kids catoon premiered.Can you tell I was a huge New kids fan?Lol and still am.Thanks and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  16. 16

    Belinda said,

    Happy Birthday! My favorite birthday present was my pet cockatiel. Thankas!

  17. 17

    Courtney M said,

    Favorite birthday present of all time–my Nikon D40x, gifted by my husband! My birthday is New Year’s Eve, and while that sounds like fun, most of the time it is a bit overlooked and overshadowed by Christmas. So sweet for him to do this!

    Favorite Birthday Memory–We were on a mission trip to Romania while it was my birthday, and Romanians party BIG time on New Years’ Eve in terms of fireworks (we all had to remind ourselves that they don’t have a 4th of July, so this is their one chance to do it right with fireworks!). I remember standing on the balcony, hearing the bells in the town’s church ring twelve times, with fireworks shooting off of rooftops, out apartment windows, and all over the street below. It was crazy but definitely memorable!

    Happy Birthday!

  18. 18

    chris swan said,

    My favorite birthday present was the year when my newborn daughter came home from the hospital on my birthday. She had been in the hospital 4 days longer than me so I was going back and forth between the hospital and home and she came home on my birthday! Best birthday present ever!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

