Shower Invitations for Christa


My darling friend Christa is pregnant with her first baby, a little girl. I am so so excited for her and her sweet husband. They are going to be fantastic parents, and let me tell you, this kid is going to be gorgeous! I’ve known Christa since the first grade and she is one of the coolest people I know.

So of course she deserves an awesome baby shower! I can’t wait — it’s going to be so much fun. These are the invitations I created. I wanted something not-too-baby, not too frilly or pastel.  I found these amazing Amy Butler papers at the Paper Crown here in OKC, a great little scrapbooking store. To be honest, I’m not much of a scrapbooker; I’d rather create something on the computer, so these were a little more artsy craftsy than I typically go. But I saw the papers, and they were so fabulous, and then I got all inspired!  There are three separate patterns of paper, in the same color family of pink, fuchsia, and chartreuse, so they mix-and-match. 

Then I printed the actual invitation on a cover weight stock, with the most gorgeous new Neutraface serif type, as well as a pretty little script for the accents. Each invitation was die cut by hand and then assembled with a matching tiny brad.

My chartreuse envelopes are from Waste Not Paper, the wholesale company of Paper Source. The color is chartreuse, and they were leftover from a wedding invitation project (the lovely Marisa Williams!)

These pictures didn’t turn out exactly as I hoped. Probably because it’s so stinkin’ rainy and gray outside, like it’s been for, oh, forever. 😦  No more rain, ok? Really. I’ve had enough.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Stephanie said,

    Love ’em! Green makes me so happy, I cannot even tell you!

  2. 2

    Erin said,

    Love, love, LOVE them! I love Amy Butler – didn’t know she had paper too. Although, I’m not sure what I’d do with it…

    Anywho, they’re fabulous!

    And, thanks again for the clothes! Now my J will be as stylin’ as your J 🙂

  3. 3

    Kathleen said,

    I’ll trade you Burgues for the Neutra serif. 🙂

  4. 4

    Erin said,

    these are beautiful! i love them! that paper source chartreuse is to die for. great work!

  5. 5

    Done! You don’t happen to have Archer, do you?

    Sent from my iPhone

  6. 6

    Shannon said,

    Do you sell these invites or would you be willing to? I’m looking for some baby shower invites and these are fab!

  7. 7

    Cherie Short said,

    Rachel,
    I am a “lurker” at your blog~I think it is fantastic! Ever since Linda told me about it to see pix of Jude, I check it out. It has become one of my favorites. So imagine my surprise at your posting today! I got tears in my eyes. You are such a special friend to Christa, and absolutely so creative. I thank you so much for doing this special shower for her. Cherie

  8. 8

    Kattie Webb said,

    Hey Rachel! The shower invites are adorable, and I know Amanda Horn!! What a small world! I love looking at your site. It makes me smile! 🙂

  9. 9

    It is a small world! I’m always amazed at the six degrees (or less) of separation!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

