Type Crush: Narziss Swirls

I got an email in my inbox from MyFonts.com, and while I typically chuck those into the virtual trash, this one caught my eye. The thick-and-thin lyricism of Narziss Swirls made me sit up and take a better look. I can only imagine the fun that I could have with this. Can you imagine these on a fantastic invitation? ::sigh::  A reasonable price, too, if you’re looking for an unusual font.

I’m really crushing on new fonts right now. I think I was getting tired of using the same ones over and over again. Especially when it comes to wedding invitations — most of my brides like the classics. And they’re a classic for a reason, and that’s fine. I’m always happy to use a beautiful, well-designed font. But also, admittedly, I’m secretly glad when I get someone who wants something just a little bit . . . different.

Big thanks to Kathleen of Jeremy & Kathleen fame (one of my OU VisComm cronies) for a nice little font swap. I’m thrilled, friend!

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kathleen said,

    Ooh! I love the “s” and “t”.

    I’m doing a for the love of type post today too! It must be in the air.

  2. 2

    heather said,

    Anyone know where i might be able to get the Narziss Swirls font for free??? I have my wedding coming up and would greatly appreciate it the help!

  3. 3

    PF Design Group said,

    Heather,
    You could write to the designer who spent his time designing the font and ask him if you could use his work for free.

    But then, you might also go into Starbucks and ask them to make you a latte for free. And maybe the florist for your wedding will give you flowers for free. Or, if you ask around, you could find a way to break into their shop and take the flowers…FOR FREE! (ie steal them).

    The point is, it may be worth a shot, but you should start by realizing that fonts and the product of labor of designers who should be paid for producing the font for your use.

    It doesn’t cost that much to buy…but I understand that you may only want to use it once. Maybe if you ask and only want to use it once he could work out a different buying arrangement for you. But whatever you do, don’t just try to ‘find it for free. ie download it illegally).

    Here is where you can buy it: http://new.myfonts.com/person/Hubert_Jocham/

    Good luck! and Best wishes on your wedding.

  4. 4

    Jolie O'Dell said,

    Hello! Is there any chance you could font swap with me, as well? I just bought SangBleu, and I’ve got a project right now that really needs Narziss Drops and Swirls.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

