Weekend Getaway: Los Angeles!

You may have noted my  insistence as of late on how badly we’ve wanted to get out of town recently. Travel has always been a part of our lives. As a kid, Mom & Dad always took me along on trips all the time; at spring break, for example, Dad would go to CME classes and Mom and I would explore whatever city we were at until he was done with his conference. I feel like traveling as a kid has been an influential part of who I am as an adult. It made me see that there was something different than where I was from – different places, people, architecture, culture, etc. Simon and I hope we can continue to do the same for Jude.

Part of the fun for us is finding a cool place to stay. It seems there are two schools of thought on hotels: (1) get something as inexpensively as possible because, after all, you won’t be spending much time there; or (2) go ahead and get something fun because staying somewhere cool is all part of the experience. In my opinion, when you stay somewhere lame, you definitely don’t want to go back to the room, so you end up finding any excuse NOT to go back.

Anyway. Did you see the post I did on the Venice ecocottages? We seriously considered staying there, and it became one of two top contenders. In the end, the Venice Paloma suites won out. Simon found them, and they look really cute. I’m especially glad, now that we have a baby, to have the extra space to spread out, as well as the convenience of a kitchen. Being cooped up in a tiny hotel room when J goes to sleep at 8pm just sounded like a whole lotta not fun.

Check out these photos – that subway tile! And in blue, no less! I love it!

I really can’t wait. I’ve been giddy all week with anticipation! We even got a fantastic airfare — a direct flight, no less! Do you know how DIFFICULT it is to get a direct flight to anywhere but Dallas from Oklahoma City? It was providential, I have no doubt. So come June, we’ll be outta here!

I’m especially looking forward to taking J around LA. It has been one of my most favorite places since my days at Pepperdine University, nearly (gulp) 10 years ago. I’ve been back several times since, and I am so thankful that Simon loves it too. It’s just so much fun. I’m thinking that we’ll take Jude to the Farmer’s Market, and explore Griffith Park. I’d like to revisit the Huntington, as well. And of course, many a trip to In-N-Out and Diddy Riese. And Pinkberry. And Malibu. Oh yes, looooots of Malibu. 

For our first anniversary in 2006, we stayed at the darling Maison 140, a member of the Kors hotel group. It was designed by Kelly Wearstler, and it was just so much fun. I love looking back at the pictures of that trip. We ate at Electric Karma, an Indian restaurant, for our anniversary dinner. And then followed up with cheesecake in Brentwood.

And then in 2007, we were there for Mom & Dad’s 50th anniversary trip. Actually, we stayed in a gorgeous rental house with the entire family in Laguna Beach, but we stole away for a couple of day trips up to LA. So I’m counting the days — can’t wait til June!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kathleen said,

    Fun! Have you been to Pink Swirlz (MWC) or Passion Berri (Norman) yet? They’re both Pinkberry knock-offs. I prefer Passion Berri – the same people that own Tea Cafe run it. So good.

  2. 2

    Simon said,

    Kathleen, While it isn’t Rachel’s favorite I have tried both several times. The one you have to try is in the Spring Creek Shopping Center on 15th Street in Edmond. It is the coolest, with the most modern decor and the best flavors. It think it’s called Orange Tree. By far the best in town. I would eat it everyday if I could!

  3. 3

    Yeah, It’s really great, especially in the case of photos.

  4. 4

    katie said,

    It looks amazing!

  5. 5

    janet said,

    wooooooooo-ho! looks amazing. have a brilliant time and take lots of photos! xo


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

