Fantastic Find: vintage bamboo chairs

A few weeks ago, I went down to Norman, OK (home of the Sooners!) for the afternoon. Every time I go to Norman, feeling all nostalgic about my college youth (ha), I hit up Bill’s Used Furniture. Bill’s is located in the old Pentecostal church. Simon and I used to frequent it all the time, and some of my favorite finds have come from Bill’s. Namely, these two lovelies:

A steal for $50, and then recovered for $35 with Amy Butler fabric. And then this one, too:

I can’t remember how much I paid for it, but it was definitely a steal. I saw a red painted version of it at Bill’s this last time I went, but it was $95, waaaaay too much for what is usually for sale @ Bill’s.

So it was with great joy & delight when I stumbled upon a pair of these bamboo chairs for $65. Total.

I have been wanting some Chinese Chippendale chairs forever, and while these aren’t exactly those, they’re pretty darn close. And at such an amazing price! Yes, the seat fabric is super ugly, but who cares? I’m always game for a project! Right now, they’re happy up in my office, and I just grin like a fool whenever I see them. I called Simon right after I bought them: “GUESS what I got?!!??! Just GUESS!”

So. If you see any cool fabric that you think might work, send it on ovah. I have my eye on the new Joel Dewberry fabrics, but I might be just as happy with a solid linen in some fab color.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Elizabeth said,

    Wow wow! Those chairs came out amazing. I particularly love the first one. You did a great job with the recovering… the fabric choice is so nice.

  2. 2

    Suzanne said,

    Hello! I stumbled across your blog about a week ago or so… so i’ve decided to de-lurk! I live in Edmond, but I’ve never heard of Bill’s… looks like I need to make a little trip to Norman before fb season! Very cool redesign.. great job!

  3. 3

    Debby said,

    The chairs are a credit to you. They are lovely and fresh looking :o)

  4. 4

    iris said,

    bamboo is a new materials for the designer to inspire their ideas. recently a team of designer are also inspiring more
    bamboo chairs . i think the next profitable wave is from your idea of putting the good design of crushion with the bamboo chair together in order to sell more higher price from the higher visionary value.

  5. 5

    Kermit said,

    Bonjour. There is something about the evening light in France. I don’t know if it is the setting sun or if the stones actually glow. They are doing it now so i’m inspired to visit your blog and say hi. We love bamboo too but these redefine the genre. Hey, what is that font you are using under the Bonjour and the Comments? It is so nice. We don’t really believe you when you say Jude threw a tantrum. He would never do that…. 😎

  6. 6

    HA! I assure you that it is all together possible for sweet petit to throw a nice tantrum. 🙂 Mmmm, wish I could be there to see sunset in summer France. So beautiful. Oh, the font? It’s called Neutra Serif. Pretty, huh?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

