HEARING AIDS!!!!

HEARING AIDS

Does it bother anyone else when people type in ALL CAPS ALL THE TIME? Drives me insane. If you do this, please stop. You are visually, nonverbally shouting at your readers. Anyway, we drive past this sign (above) all the time, and I just crack up every time I see it. If I’m with Simon, I lean over and say “HEAAAARING AAAAAIIIIDS.”

He’s been asking me when I’m going to post this picture. Classic example of what was referred to in design school as BAT — Big (ahem) Butt (err, donkey?) Type. Anyway. There you go. My design lecture of the day.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Erin said,

    love it. I see that sign all the time as well, but I’ve never quite noticed that part (maybe I’m blind?). That does remind me that I need to call for a hair appt today though – thanks!

  2. 2

    Anna said,

    Hmm… What about people who write, not type, in all caps?

    Were my studio teachers wanting my drawings to scream at people??
    (That explains tensions between engineers/architects/contractors!)

    Have I been shouting at people for the last 5 years and not even known!?

    Yikes. Maybe it’s time for a personal font change…

  3. 3

    Kira said,

    Don’t even get Brad started on signs around town – he will give you an ear full. He usually has the biggest problem with how big they are, placement, etc. However, occassionally I will also hear about font, readability, and the list goes on. Oh you designer folk – I feel sorry for you. It must be hard to walk through this world without being a complete pessimist. By the way, is that Brad’s truck parked over there at El Chico in your picture?! Busted??!! Ha!

  4. 4

    erin said,

    now that made me smile!

  5. 5

    Benita said,

    I know how you feel! I have a Chinese supplier who writes me e-mails all in 18 pt caps. I need to step away from my computer for it to be even remotely legible and I feel screamed at after.

  6. 6

    This is cracking me up, big time. I think we TOTALLY busted Brad at El NastyoChico! 🙂

  7. 7

    I worked for a girl who scrawled in all caps. She would leave these to-do lists for us to complete and I would inexplicably feel my hackles begin to rise. That’s probably why, now that I think about it. ::shivers::


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

