A New Favorite

I like to think that I read a lot of books. I’m not too biased in what I choose to read, but as I’ve become a bigger fan of the library, I’m more inclined to choose books that I might have passed over if I were only planning to purchase them.

Enter The Help. At first glance, it wasn’t a book that I probably would’ve just picked up. I tend to lean toward lighter fare and the subject matter of segregated 1960s Mississippi tends to not be, well, very light. When I checked it out at the library after a several-week waiting list, the librarian practically gushed about how amazing this was.

And she was right. I can’t put this book down. It brings me back to the same question, over and over again: how can/could people treat other people poorly? Why do we not talk about our differences? How does ignorance thrive?

Anyway. I’m definitely going to buy this book, because I know that it is one that I will want to read again and again. Add it to your queue, library-goers!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I thought it was very good although I was a little bit disappointed how flat the white woman’s characters were. It was definitely a good read.

    Have you read Sarah’s Key? Amazon recommends it based on my purchase of this book – also quite good. Totally different time period but you’ll end the book asking the same questions.

  2. 2

    Agreed. I think the white women couldve been a little deeper. Funny you should mention Sarahs Key. I’ve got it in my library queue.

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. 3

    Chrysi said,

    Ooh, I’m glad you liked it and thought it was worth recommending. I’m on the waiting list for the audio version.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

