Read any good books lately?

I’m looking for books to add to my library queue. Read anything good lately? Chrysi, I need you to comment, too – I should’ve written down the titles of a bunch of those books we talked about a few months ago.

Anyway, you can catch up on my current have-already-read-this-year list here.

Ok, go – comment away! I need books and I need ’em now!

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Bridget said,


    I use goodreads to keep track and remember books to read; I’m currently reading Rudyard Kipling’s “Kim,” Anthony Trollope’s “Rachel Ray” (from a thrift store) and the cookbook/manual “Cookwise” by Shirley Corriher.

    Based on your list of books, I’d recommend:

    Perfume: The Story of a Murderer
    by Patrick Süskind

    A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, #1)
    by Libba Bray

    by Jeffrey Eugenides

    A Midwife’s Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812
    by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

    Let us know what you find :)

  2. 2

    Shannon said,

    The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo was excellent – it’s a 3 part series…haven’t read book #2 yet and #3 is due out this summer.

    The Book Thief is another one I’d recommend.

    I was going to recommend The Help, but it looks like you read it – wasn’t it fantastic?!

  3. 3

    Lynsay said,

    The Book Thief by Markus Zusak was excellent. I also looooooooved The Guernsey Literary Club and Potato Peel Society by Maryann Shaffer and Ann Burrows.

  4. 4

    Lynsay said,

    Ok you’ve already read The Guernsey Literary Club! hah Wasn’t it wonderful? I am reading The Help right now, I’m 30 pages in and already loving it. I would also recommend Skeleton at the Feast by Chris Bojhalian.

  5. 5

    You guys are all giving excellent suggestions! Yes, the Help is one of my new all-time faves. I could not put it down. I thought it was excellent.

    Did anyone here ever read the Marie-Antoinette biopic by Antonia Fraser? It was the biography that the Sophia Coppola movie was based on. I really enjoyed that, and since seeing The Young Victoria, I’d also like a similar read on QV.

  6. 6

    Kathleen said,

    In Defense Of Food by Michael Pollan – this one changed my life

    The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

    My Life in France by Julia Child

    Eat Pray Love by Liz Gilbert – I kind of loved to hate her but I got something from this book.

    I’m currently reading The Happiness Project – it reads like a blog and makes you think

    next up on my list is Julie and Julia – it was highly recommended by my sister and friend Liz who had just read My Life in France

  7. 7

    Chrysi said,

    Let’s see…

    The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley was a cute mystery.

    I loved Hunger Games and Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins (books 1 and 2 in a series with the 3rd coming out in August.) Written for teens I think, but fun for me!

    Have you read any of the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books by Alexander McCall Smith? I listened to the first one a while back and want to check some more out.

    The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls was a sad read at times, but it opened my eyes a bit to those who are struggling with poverty and addictions. And somehow I couldn’t put it down.

    Did you ever read The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini? Good book.

    I remember liking The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. It’s been a couple of years since I listened to this one but I always enjoy a mystery set around an English manor.

    That’s all for now.

  8. 8

    emily burress mckeaigg said,

    i am reading the History of Love by Nicole Krauss. Have you read it yet? it’s fab. I’m going to look into some you’ve read and others have recommended…yay for new finds!

  9. 9

    Nope, haven’t read that one yet, but I’ll add it to my queue.

Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

