Christa’s Shower

Hooray for babies — and hooray for baby girl babies! My friend Christa, who I have known since the first grade, is having her first baby in July, a sweet little girl. It was with great pleasure that I and five of her girlfriends got to throw her a fun shower on Saturday. Oh, how I love a party — and even better when we get to have a girly party! 

Christa, we love you and can’t wait to meet your little one! She’s going to have one great momma and daddy!

Yay for pompoms! Aren’t they fun?

Clearly I am obsessed with the pompoms. Please indulge me.

I brought Jude’s bassinet down from the playroom where it was previously holding stuffed animals and it is all ready to hold gifts!  Meanwhile, in the playroom, it looks like a stuffed animal massacre. I really don’t know what to do with all of them.

What’s better than a bassinet full of baby gifts? A bassinet AND a cute red stroller full of gifts! Oh, you should have seen the precious smocked bonnet that the grandmother-to-be handmade for the new baby. Too sweet!

Christa’s pal Sara is such a good friend. She really wanted to help with the shower, but was leaving for vacation the day-of, but she still made (from scratch, mind you) the most amazing, gorgeous cupcakes ever! She brought them over on Friday morning, and it was all Simon I could to do to keep his my hands off of them.


All the hostesses with mama-to-be, sans hostess Erin who had to leave early with her sweet little baby boy. FYI, Erin is one of my new favorite people. I met Erin on the internet(!) three years ago or so — we were both brides over on TheKnot.com’s message boards, and we became online buds. Who knew — the internet! Not just for perverts and weirdos anymore! Anyway, turns out we had some mutual friends, and Christa was one of them! It was great fun to hang out w/ Dr. E and enjoy some time oohing and aahing over her sweet new little bundle of joy. (He definitely has the best hair of any kid I have ever seen).

Sweets and treats to drink.

These little babies just crack me up. I bought a package of them at Michael’s and hid them in various centerpieces. Kinda sad that they’re all naked and sitting on prickly coral. Sorry, little babies.

All in all, a marvelous party for a marvelous mama. Now. The party’s over, and this only means one thing: it’s vacation week! Hooray!

17 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    katie said,

    Love love love the “oh baby” on the mirror. The pom poms look fantastic.

  2. 2

    Kermit said,

    How did you do that? We are speechless. Mom’s furniture must love living at your house!

  3. 3

    janet said,

    so cute!! what an amazing party. have fun on holiday!

  4. 4

    Mandy Ford said,

    What a gorgeous shower!!

  5. 5

    Erin said,

    oh wow! love the pompoms!

  6. 6

    Antowedding said,

    guauuuuuuuuu i love it!! so cute

  7. 7

    I wish Grandmother were here to see it all. I like to think that she’s happy to know that her things are here, living on, in her memory!

  8. 8

    Thanks so much, everybody! It was such a fun day, and Christa is one special momma-to-be!

  9. 9

    What a beautiful shower! I love everything you did… every detail is totally perfect. Oh, and you were right to go crazy with the pompoms… they are so pretty!

  10. 10

    Thank you! I really enjoyed getting to throw a girl shower for once! It indulged my frilly side. 🙂

  11. 11

    Kristin said,

    Love the shower. Where did you get the pom poms?

  12. 12

    Hi, Kristin! They came from Michaels!

    Sent from my iPhone

  13. 13

    Kristin said,

    Hey there, do you live in OKC? I would love to see some of your graphic design work. I LOVE your style. I work in PR and it seems that I am always looking for a good designer. My email is kmiskovsky@yahoo.com. Would love to see some samples and know what your fees are. Just let me know. Thanks, Kristin

  14. 14

    Daisy said,

    How Cute is this party? I love all of these decorations….they are adorable. Daisy~

  15. 15

    Thanks, Daisy! Your blog sure is fun!

  16. 16

    Caitlin said,

    everything looks amazing! i’ve been searching for baby shower inspiration and came across your photos on flickr and i’m so glad i did!

  17. 17

    Thank you, Caitlin! I hope you keep coming back! Love your blog too, btw.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment